Monkey Barrel Comedy

Monkey Barrel Comedy
9–11 Blair Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1QR
  • Telephone 0131 225 5149
  • Opening times Tue 7pm–midnight; Wed–Sun 10am–4.30pm & 7pm–midnight; closed Mon.
  • Email
  • Website www.monkeybarrelcomedy.com
in association with
Birra Moretti

In the heart of Edinburgh’s old town, Monkey Barrel Comedy’s brand venue brings with it an alternative approach to Edinburgh’s art scene.

By night, we are an award-winning comedy club (Best Small Club, Scottish Comedy Awards 2016) offering great food, drink and top stand-up until midnight.

By day we are a family friendly café offering home-made and locally sourced food and drink. Vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options are available, as is our children’s menu.

The venue has wheelchair access, ample space for buggies, highchairs and baby changing facilities.

Text supplied by third party.

  • Provides: Free wi-fi

Event times

There are 14 events at this location

Sorted by title / date & time

The Body Snatcher

Peter Berry and John Shedden present their adaptation of the Robert Louis Stevenson short story.

Thu 16 Mar

Times to be confirmed / Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 13 Apr

Times to be confirmed / Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 11 May

Times to be confirmed / Free / 0131 225 5149

…and 8 more dates until 21 Dec

Freestyle Comedy

Stand-up comedy night influenced by suggestions from the audience.

Thu 23 Mar

£5 / 0131 225 5149

An Imp-Revised History of the World

Improvised history from Edinburgh's own Smoky Monkeys.

Sun 12 Mar

Free / 0131 225 5149

Sun 9 Apr

Free / 0131 225 5149

Sun 14 May

Free / 0131 225 5149

…and 2 more dates until 9 Jul

In the Spirit of Burns & Stevenson

Walking tour by Peter Berry and John Shedden as their aliases Burns and Stevenson.

Thu 2 Mar

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 30 Mar

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 27 Apr

Free / 0131 225 5149

…and 8 more dates until 7 Dec

Jamali Maddix: Chickens Come Home to Roost

  • 3 stars

Comedy from self-proclaimed 'comicbook reader, ordained minister and med cannabis believer'.

The Life and Works of Robert Burns

Peter Berry reads some of Burns' finest work.

Thu 23 Mar

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 20 Apr

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 18 May

Free / 0131 225 5149

…and 8 more dates until 28 Dec

Monkey Barrel Comedy's Big Friday Show

Monkey Barrel Comedy brings you a cracking night of premier stand up comedy in the heart of Edinburgh every Friday night. All held together by our experienced and deftly interactive host, the legendary Rick Molland ("Molland is the perfect compere" - Three Weeks), each show features three of the best up-and-coming acts…

…and 28 more dates until 27 Oct

Monkey Barrel Comedy's Big Saturday Show

Monkey Barrel Comedy brings you a cracking night of premier stand up comedy in the heart of Edinburgh every Saturday night. All held together by our experienced and deftly interactive host, the legendary Rick Molland ("Molland is the perfect compere" - Three Weeks), each show features three of the best up-and-coming…

…and 29 more dates until 28 Oct

Poetry Through the Ages

Peter Berry and John Shedden read an anthology of local, national and international works.

Thu 9 Mar

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 6 Apr

Free / 0131 225 5149

Thu 4 May

Free / 0131 225 5149

…and 8 more dates until 14 Dec

Progress!

Sundays at Monkey Barrel Comedy are our rising star showcase shows! Each week resident host Rick Molland ("Molland is the perfect compere" – Three Weeks) presents a selection of the very best up-and-coming acts from Scotland and beyond, with a stonking national headliner to top it all off. Want to see the stars of…

Sun 26 Feb

Sun 5 Mar

Sun 12 Mar

…and 28 more dates until 29 Oct

Project X

"It's alive!" but hopefully we've not created a monster! Tuesdays at Monkey Barrel are our anything-goes work-in-progress comedy lab nights. All new funnies have to start somewhere! Each week the very finest comic talent from Scotland and beyond will be debuting not just new jokes and bits, but also experimenting with…

Tue 28 Feb

Tue 7 Mar

Tue 14 Mar

…and 27 more dates until 24 Oct

Spontaneous Sherlock's Monthly Mystery

An entirely improvised Sherlock Holmes comedy play, with live Victorian musical accompaniment. Performed by Will Naameh, Sam Irving and Nicola Dove. Music improvised by Jenny Laahs (piano), Nick Lauener (piano/violin) and Graham Coe (cello).

Top Banana

Catch the stars of the future right at the beginning every Wednesday night at our new act competition! Each show a welcoming host presents a magnificent seven promising comedy hopefuls vying for the audience vote to become Top Banana. We also have established acts dropping by to road-test some new material, and a…

Wed 1 Mar

Wed 8 Mar

Wed 15 Mar

…and 27 more dates until 25 Oct

Twisted Edge Workshops

Stand-up comedy workshop from Twisted Edge.

Mon 27 Feb

£3 / 0131 225 5149

Mon 6 Mar

£3 / 0131 225 5149

Mon 13 Mar

£3 / 0131 225 5149

…and 30 more dates until 9 Oct